Skip to content
Oopbuy logoOopbuy Spreadsheet UK Payments

Statement October 2026Channel All channelsPages read 15 October 2026

Oopbuy payment methods compared for a UK buyer, without a ranking

Five ways in, laid side by side: what each costs where Oopbuy says, how fast it credits, how money comes back out, and what nobody has published.

01Channel by channel, on one page

Everything in this table is quoted from Oopbuy's own pages, read on 15 October 2026. Where an entry says "not stated", we looked and found nothing. That is information too: it tells you which numbers to check on the payment screen.

Official wording, read 15 October 2026
ChannelFee Oopbuy publishesTime to creditCurrency note
PayPal top-up4.5% + $0.30 (Top up page); 3.7% + $0.30 (two FAQ answers)1 to 60 minutes; ~3 working days if reviewed; 3 to 7 for e-chequeconverted to USD first
Card at checkoutnot statednot statedruns through PayPal's card form
Wisenot stated by Oopbuynot statedGBP accepted
UK bank transfer0.1% + US$7 bank fees2 to 3 working dayscredited in yuan at the website rate
KlarnaKlarna's own termsnot statedeligibility text names US residents

02The fee on small, medium and large top-ups

Only two channels have a published fee you can calculate with: PayPal and the bank transfer. On $50, PayPal at 4.5% costs $2.55 and a UK transfer costs $7.05. On $150 they are nearly level. On $400, PayPal costs $18.30 and the transfer $7.40.

The crossover sits at about $152 using the Top up page figure, or $186 using the FAQ's 3.7%. Your own bank's charge for sending abroad comes on top of the transfer's fees and moves that point upwards.

One top-up or two: a cash-flow choice

Funding once may avoid repeating a fixed fee. It also leaves money in the agent account before final freight is known. Funding separately keeps less idle balance but may repeat payment costs or wait times.

Compare those trade-offs using the same expected net balance. Do not send a large speculative amount solely because a historical fee example appears cheaper. Check how unused balance is returned and whether any fees or exchange losses remain.

04Speed: minutes, working days, or unpublished

PayPal is the only channel with a crediting time in minutes, and even that has exceptions: a PayPal risk review usually takes 3 working days and an electronic cheque 3 to 7. Bank transfers take 2 to 3 working days. Wise and card checkout have no published time.

Speed matters most when a goods payment or a supplement is waiting. If you are paying a supplement with a deadline, confirm the current provider timing rather than assuming instant credit.

05How a balance comes back out

Paying in is half the picture. If you top up more than you spend, the withdrawal FAQ says unused balance goes back to the original recharge account, "bank account or third-party payment account", in the original way. Finance generally processes it in 2 to 3 working days, and the requested amount is frozen meanwhile.

Oopbuy does not say whether the top-up fee is returned with a withdrawal. Assume it is not. That is the strongest argument for topping up close to what the basket needs.

Crop of the FAQ on withdrawing an Oopbuy balance back to the original recharge account
Withdrawal FAQ, read 15 October 2026. Open full-size source excerpt

Compare like-for-like before choosing

For each available channel, record the amount debited, currency, payment fee, conversion rate, expected credited balance and status. An old published percentage alone cannot tell you the cheapest or fastest choice today.

If an order deadline is near, confirm the available channel’s timing with support. If a provider is absent from your checkout, do not treat a footer logo or an old help page as a way to activate it.

Try the assumptions in the calculator

07What none of the channels tells you

One FAQ explains why cross-border transactions carry fees at all: services "may incur a certain percentage of cross-border transaction fees due to fluctuations in exchange rates, bank cross-border exchange fees, and other factors." It does not say what the percentage is.

Crop of the FAQ explaining cross-border transaction fees without giving a percentage
FAQ on cross-border transaction fees, read 15 October 2026. Open full-size source excerpt

That sentence sits under every channel. The honest summary: PayPal's fee and the bank transfer's fees are published; the exchange margin between your money and your yuan balance is described but not quantified, except by independent measurement.